

YOUNG FACULTY RECOGNITION AWARD (YFRA) REPORT 2022

The Indian Institute of Technology Madras is known both nationally and internationally for excellence in technical education, basic and applied research, innovation, entrepreneurship, and industrial consultancy. The Institute is proud to bear the laureate of being No.1 engineering university in India. More recently, IIT Madras has been given the title of Institute of Eminence.

IITM aims to provide sustainable solutions to societal problems-solutions which are made possible by contributions from alumni & well-wishers. The office of Alumni & Corporate Relations is Striving under the guidance of Professor Mahesh Panchagnula, Dean of Alumni & Corporate relations.





The young Faculty Recognition Award was instituted in the year 2010. The award consists of a Cash award Rs. 50,000/- and certificate to outstanding young faculty members to acknowledge and felicitate their achievements in their respective academic and pedagogic fields on Teachers Day.

Awardee for the year 2022

The following Professors were awarded for "Young Faculty Recognition Award"

S. No.	Recipient Name	Department
1	Dr. Alagappan Ponnalagu	Civil Engineering
2	Dr. Phanisri Pradeep Pratapa	Civil Engineering
3	Dr. Arun Rajkumar	Computer Science & Engineering
4	Dr. Babji Srinivasan	Applied Mechanics

Voice of the Awardees



Dr. Alagappan Ponnalagu Dept. of Civil Engineering

"I want to thank Dr. P. Balasubramanian and Dr. P. Manohar Anand for sponsoring this award which recognizes faculty for their contribution to teaching and research. This award will serve as an impetus to improve my teaching and research further."

- Alagappan Ponnalagu



Dr. Phanisri Pradeep Pratapa Dept. of Civil Engineering

"YFRA provides a positive nudge to young faculty like me by giving a sense of support and confidence to keep doing what we were doing, and that we are on the right path. I sincerely thank the donors Dr. P. Balasubramanian and Dr. P. Manohar Anand for instituting such an award that encourages young minds to excel in their academic careers."

- Phanisri Pradeep Pratapa



Dr. Arun Rajkumar Dept. of Computer Science Engineering

"I am honoured to be receiving this award and grateful to Dr. Balasubramanian and Dr. P. Manohar Anand for Instituting the same. I thank the director and the YFRA award committee for following a rigorous process to select the awardees. Such awards definitely provide a push to do even better in teaching and research."

- Arun Rajkumar



Dr. Babji Srinivasan Dept. of Applied Mechanics

"I whole -heartedly thank the IIT alumnus for creating such a wonderful recognition award to young faculties. This recognition really provides mental support and acts as a booster to achieve more in my career."

- Babji Srinivasan

Thank you for your most generous contribution! We are so fortunate to have caught the attention of alumni like you with large warm hearts. We can't do without you, and we greatly appreciate your willingness to be a helping hand.

For more information, please contact:

Office of Alumni and Corporate Relations, IIT Madras.

T: +91-44-2257 8390 | <a href="https://acr.iitm.ac.in_l www.iitm.ac.in_l www.iitm.









